Using Images in PowerPoint

Inserting images, Adding shapes

In this exercise, we will add a logo image to the Title Master. We'll also use the Line tool to create some visual separation from the logo and the titles.

This exercise uses the supplied PowerPoint 2016 class files and screenshots. The core slide-design techniques still apply, but ribbon labels and controls may differ in current Microsoft 365 or other PowerPoint versions.

Downloading & Installing Class Files

If you haven't already, these instructions tell you how to install the class files you'll need to go through the exercises in this workbook.

  1. Navigate to the Desktop.
  2. Create a new folder called Class Files (this is where you'll put the files after they have been downloaded).
  3. Go to nobledesktop.com/download
  4. Enter the code ppt16-1708-01
  5. If you haven't already, click Start Download.
  6. After the .zip file has finished downloading, be sure to unzip the file if it hasn't been done for you. You should end up with a PowerPoint 2016 Class folder.
  7. If you still have the downloaded .zip file, you can delete that. That's it! Enjoy.

Before Starting

If you completed the previous exercise, yourname-Presentation.pptx should still be open. If you closed it, re-open it now. If you did not complete the previous exercises (1B–1C), do the following sidebar.

If You Did Not Do the Previous Exercises (1B–1C)

  1. Go to File > Open. (On Mac, use the menu. On Windows, go to the File tab at the top left and in the left sidebar, click Open.)
  2. Under Open, click on On my Mac or This PC.
  3.  Navigate to Desktop > Class Files > yourname-PowerPoint 2016 Class and double–click Title Slide Layout Done.pptx to open it.
  4. Go to File > Save As. (On Mac, use the menu. On Windows, go to the File tab and in the left sidebar, click Save As.)
  5. Windows only: Click the Browse button.
  6. Name it yourname-Presentation.pptx and click Save.
  7. If you are asked if you want to replace the existing file, click Yes.

Inserting Images

It's time to insert our logo to the left of the title and subtitle.

1. Click on the Slide Master tab if you're not already there.

2. In the Slides list on the left, click on the Title Slide Layout if it isn't already selected.

3. At the top, click on the Insert tab.

4. In the Insert tab, click the Pictures button. Mac users then need to choose Picture from File.

5. Navigate to Desktop > Class Files > yourname-PowerPoint 2016 Class > Source and double–click on Logo - Leaf Works.png.

Image File Types

JPEG works well for photographs. PNG supports transparency and is useful for raster logos and icons. Current PowerPoint versions also support SVG for scalable vector artwork on Windows and Mac. Check compatibility with the PowerPoint version used by your audience. Convert legacy EPS artwork to a supported format before inserting it.

Vector artwork can stay sharp when resized, while raster images need enough pixels for their intended display size. Use the supplied PNG logo for this exercise.

6. Let's resize the logo. Right-click on the logo and select Size and Position.

7. In the Format Picture panel, under Size, set Width to 3.5. (Check Lock aspect ratio to preserve the relationship between the image height and width.)

8. Under Position, set Horizontal position to 1.0."

9. Set Vertical position to 2.15." Much nicer!

Adding Shapes

PowerPoint includes a wide variety of shape drawing tools. In this case, we want to add a vertical line in the center of the slide between the logo and the text.

1. Click on the Insert tab at the top.

2. Click the Shapes button, and under Lines, select the first one, Line.

3. Notice that the cursor turned from a pointer into a crosshair.

4. With the cursor at the top center of the slide between the logo and text, hold Shift and drag downward to draw a vertical line. Release the mouse just above the blue part of the background image, as shown below.

NOTE: Holding Shift constrains the angles to multiples of 45°, ensuring your line is perfectly vertical (or horizontal).

5. Double–click on the line to open up the Shape Format (Mac) or Format (Windows) tab at the top of the screen. This tab contains many of the properties found in the right-hand Format Shape panel, but not all of them.

NOTE: Because the name for this tab is different on Mac and Windows, we'll refer to it as the (Shape) Format tab from now on. You can double–click any item to open up its (Shape) Format tab.

6. In the (Shape) Format tab, towards the right, click the Align button and ensure Align to Slide is selected, then choose Align Center. (On smaller screens, you may need to click Arrange first.)

Now the line is centered in the middle of the slide.

7. Still in the (Shape) Format tab, click the arrow part of the Shape Outline button.

8. Choose Weight > 1 pt.

9. Look in the Format Shape panel on the right. If you don't see options for Line, go near the top of the panel and click the first icon, the Fill & Line button.

10. In the options under Line, from the Dash type menu, choose the third option, Square Dot.

11. Let's create a green and blue gradient. Under Line, select Gradient line.

12. There is a gradient bar with several stops (sliders) representing the colors in the gradient. We only want two, so click on the middle stops, and click the Minus (–) button (Mac) or the Remove gradient stop button (Windows) to remove them.

13. Click on the left stop if it isn't already selected.

14. Below the gradient bar, click on the Color menu.

15. Choose the fifth theme color, Olive Green, Accent 1. This matches the top of the slide's background image.

16. Now, let's match our blue. Click the right stop to select it.

17. Click on the Color menu.

18. Choose the sixth theme color Dark Teal, Accent 2. Now our gradient goes from green at the top to blue at the bottom.

19. Looks awesome! Press Cmd–S (Mac) or Ctrl–S (Windows) to save the changes.

Master Microsoft Office

Practice presentations, spreadsheets, and other workplace tools in NYIM's Microsoft Office classes. See the course pages below for current schedules, prerequisites, and individual or team training options.

Yelp Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Twitter Instagram